Robinson First United Methodist Church has a long and proud history serving the people of Crawford County. The first class of Methodists was organized in 1846, although the first building was not constructed until twenty years later. Evangelistic meetings and revivals were an important part of the early days of First United Methodist Church. Records indicate that Sunday School was held as early as 1862. Our choir was first organized in 1885.
Ground was broken on a new structure on July 20, 1899, with the dedication of the building held on April 8, 1900. The Woman's Home Missionary Society (predecessor to United Methodist Women) was organized in 1908. Our first organ was installed between 1911 and 1914. The building was remodeled between 1945 and 1952. Our current education wing was constructed and dedicated in 1960. The sanctuary was again remodeled in the late 1960s.
Our more recent history shows the resilency of FUMC. Fire broke out in the church on December 25, 2012, destroying the 1899 building. The education wing received extensive smoke and water damage. After several months of displacement, the education wing was remodeled, and worship has been held in Asbury Hall. Ground for a new sanctuary was broken on May 11, 2014. Our congregation now focuses on vibrant worship, education for all ages, and reaching out into the community as we share in finding the heartbeat of God.